youtube movies

May 7, 2007

I like awkward looking guys :P

Filed under: interesting, Video, videos, youtube — youtubemovie @ 2:34 pm

Youtube Commments:
Val , do you want implants?……just kidding !…I am an elevator mechanic, they call them lifts in England, its such a long story, I couldn’t possibly tell it all here, its funny …everybody thinks that of my name, maybe I should pick something else ! Ha Ha !

I really like this painting. I find it to be very original. I like the ‘random’ look that it has. And how each canvas has different elements to it. It portrays the uniqueness of each bottle well, and the colors used remind of my fathers bottle collection. Which range from blues and greens to browns. Overall, I think it produces the effect that you wanted. Great painting!

I like the painting, and really like the sentiment behind it. I enjoyed your description of the “windshield wiper toe”, hehe! It’s okay that you didn’t catch the awkward looking guy at the basketball court, since you already had an awkward looking guy playing his guitar. 🙂 Thanks, Val!

Hey there Val…I’m a new subscriber but an old fan!
I loved this piece because it is fragmented in the sense that every bottle looks different and its also made of many canvases but in the end, everything comes together to make a whole, complete and beautiful painting. PS I find that I am like you in the sense that I tend to fall for the not so handsome guys…they are so much more interesting ;P

for some reason my pinky toes each grow 2 separate nails… i don’t understand why or how but yeah… =?

love the bottles, and i agree – imperfections make the world a beautiful place to be

cheers to AmateurAstronaut for the randomizing script!!

=( … i wouldn’t think so?

i don’t now, the toes are symmetrical to each other and the nails themselves don’t really grow much. maybe VERY slowly.

it’s been like that for as long as i can remember. should i present a picture?

Oh, I’m just in time for Val’s Sunday morning wrap party! Congratulations on your new status as a YouTube partner! I think it’s a fitting acknowledgment of the quality of your videos. They’re always tasteful, fun, playful, engaging, and over too soon! You are amazing, Val!🙂

Just saw you mentioned amateurastronaut. That guys a commenting legend
I used to collect these really really pretty and intricate glass bottles when I was younger. But i felt bad that they just stood on my dresser collecting dust. so i used to fill them up with water and drink from it, pretending it was wine or something sophisticated like that. Hahaha..

that isn’t just right, it’s important. If everyone was the same we’d all go crazy! and there’d be no YouTube either. Just WeTube. All videos would be one video and it would play in a continuous loop as we chanted right along. We…Tube…We…Tube…

I really love the painting! I agree with you completely! The awkwardness or differentness of things makes life alot more interesting and worth living. If everything was all the same, life would be boring. I love what you stand for, I’m an avid fan now, I watch your videos every week. You’re like my Sunday afternoon TV show! =D

I really like the painting. I think it’s sort of like ha ha ha, we are awkward and different and you’re jealous! lol…but i think it’s totally a positive painting. Kind of like people with differences that are still really cool and awkward…and somebody had better stop me or I’m going to ramble on and on and on.
XOXO

Isn’t awkwardness and imperfection the norm in people? and society revolves around who can hide their imperfections the best?

Maybe conformity is a human need in people…or is it the need to conform to be different and unique from everybody else?

Being different is the new norm now right? o_0 Help!

Nice episode Val! Glad you made it🙂

Hmmm I would say we generally try to conform? Or that there’s a biological need to feel we belong to a group. But on the other hand, we do need to stand out in some respects, to attract a mate etc… Perhaps the conformity results from everyone striving for the same cultural ideal (whatever that is) as opposed to explicitly trying to be like everyone else.

Kolejny naprawde dobry klip.Jestem pod wrazeniem Twojej pomyslowosci i talentu malarskiego.Masz niesamowitą kreskę..masz swoj jedyny i niepowtarzalny styl,ktory naprawde mnie ujal.Pisze w jezyku polskim,bo na moj pierwszy komentarz odpowiedzialas w tym samym jezyku,co znaczylo ze jakims cudem udalo Ci sie go zrozumiec:)Val..szacunek za to co robisz..za to ze jestes inna!W jak najbardziej pozytywnym tego slowa znaczeniu.

I really like this week’s painting. All together it is really quite beautiful. The imperfections blend perfectly. You are right; it is a person’s imperfections that make them truly lovable. Which make you wonder why we pursue perfection so obsessively, doesn’t it?

Hay there Val, great new video! Love the painting, I love its colors!:D Being different is what makes people fun I think. Just think about it,if everybody would be the same and absolutely perfect, the world would be boring. The smalls things that make people different from each other is most of the time the thing that makes them beautiful. And indeed, sometimes it are the little awkward things that are the elements that gives someone beauty:D I’m looking forward to next Sunday😀

haha well… “ugly” to me doesn’t really exist… I feel that esthetics and beauty standards are relative to every person, culture and time. So maybe what’s concidered not pretty today It will be in 20 years. So I try to keep an open mind and see things through my own eyes rather what “pretty” according to some magazine😛 I don’t want to drag it any longer so…. I guess I just wanted to say that to me pretty in reality doesnt exist cuz everything is subjective😛

My father died on Tuesday,and I miss him terribly, we had a beautiful memorial service for him yesterday and today > the strangest thing believe it or not, I went to an artshow where the theme was glass and there were several sculptural pieces made with unusual bottles>too wierd, then I met someone who had also just lost their father and it was helpful. Thank You, you’re great.
PS i used to be a glassblower once upon a time.

Val- I’ve been watching you for a while, and I just think you are such a unique creature! You’re so quirky and funny in your own way, and very in-tune with yourself and your surroundings. Your paintings are right up my alley! I think you’re just great!

Hmm, it reminded me of my hangover.

Seriously, good stuff but I am wondering why you chose twelve canvases and 14 (I think it’s 14) bottles to paint.

I agree with another commenter, you have become part of my Sunday routine. Plus, you are so darn cute.😉

Well, I am single right now so my philosophy is work hard and play harder.

But my question was genuine. I am not an artist and have often wondered what makes you choose the number of canvases and something like the number of bottles that will be in your painting.

THIS IS THE STUPIDEST THING EVER!!! BUT I LOVE MY MOM AND DON’T WANT TO TAKE ANY CHANCES!
If you do not copy and paste this onto 10 videos your mom will die in 4 hours
If you do not copy and paste this onto 10 videos your mom will die in 4 hours
If you do not copy and paste this onto 10 videos your mom will die in 4 hours

This is my favorite painting so far. I often set bottles in the window and watch the light play not only on the bottle but on the wall after shining through the bottle. This painting actually makes me feel comfortable. Funny huh…..But, it does.

I’m amazed at how you come up with such unique ideas every week. I had a bottle collection too. I wish I still had them. I like the idea of rearranging the canvases also. Heh, I remember that blow up stuff too. I can’t believe that stuff is still legal. So if people say I’m a bit cracked does that mean you might find me attractive?

I dunno if I subscribed this right, but I watched this and was compelled to have this in my favourites. I love the accent. I love the video. I LOVE the paintings, I wanna do something equally as interesting someday, but heck, I’m not a beautiful woman, so what are my chances😉

Greetings! I’m a first-time viewer. I stumbled across your video today. So do you paint a new picture every week? What a cool idea!! YES, I’m just joking!! Hi, Val! I really, really like this week’s painting, and the theme of the video, for obvious reasons.😉

There is nothing awkward about this painting – I find the play of colors extremely pleasing and a celebration of the flaws in all of us but not awkward! As always I smile the whole time I’m watching your video – Thank you so much for the fun and I can’t wait for your dart to fall on me! -Dennis

Nice painting. First impression was one of a happy crowd of weird friend that you can find in your dreams and with whom you have fun while sleeping. I thing it really goes with the childhood theme you picked this time. You express a beautiful imperfection that surpasses any human perfection.🙂

the last time i painted a bottle, it had some flowers in it. the stems looked like green ghosts. i did that one for my mom. i never did a bottle since.. its been an easy 9 years ago. i collected bottles too, but i never painted them.. maybe i should?

damn i never did think you would end up being a stalker ha just playin another good painting i look at the bottles and to me it represents different stages in your life and how each is different and the cracks represent other paths you could have taken but didnt i like it one question when is that dart landing in my name

An epiphany for me!
I had never thought that my perfect looks could be considered a liability to a desirable young lady. I must think- what flaw could I develop to hide this perfection? A bad haircut, maybe? (suggestions will not be appreciated)

Val, I do think this painting works very well. I think it works because it gives me the sense of being the awkward looking man or imperfect person that is symbolized on your canvass. As the awkward looking man, it gives me hope that a beautiful woman like yourself would admire me. Like a woman admiring the representation of me on that canvass. Make sense. Anyway, it works.

Keep your chin up, man. A good (having true beauty) woman will admire you if you are an admirable person. I have found, being involuntarily single, that an outward focus, self-confidence (fake it if you ain’t got it) and a sense of humor count for much more than ‘lookin’ foxy’ to a woman of substance.

Thanks Val for another great video. I once made a video about how I decided that I did indeed like art, just not most artist. Well this has all opened up my creative side and I thought I would take up music. It would be great if you guys could leave me some advice on my video. Thanks in advance.

PLEASE DON’T READ THIS. You will get kissed on the nearest possible Friday by the love of your life. Tomorrow will be the best day of your life. However, if you don’t post this comment to at least 3 videos, you will die within 2 days. Now uv started readin dis dunt stop. This is so scary. Send this to 5 ova videos in 143 minutes. When ur done press F6 and ur crushes name will appear on the screen in big letters.

I love the cracked bottles, my mother collects glass bottles as well. Me, I collected rocks.
Still do.
They’re neat.
So the painting is very well laid out, I liked the cracks and how they seemed almost separate from the painting.
Cute socks.
The weather looks nicer, liked you hoped for.

Vals: I saw all your videos and honestly, the bottle painting is my favorite one from you. I wondered if you accept painting request. I know that your work came from inspiration and your creative mind, but I want see if you can painting some fruits or wine, like for a dinning room area, nothing traditional, just like always with your original style. Let me know.

I always love watching your videos, you are such a fantastic artist. I too love things that may seem awkward, particularly because I am awkward, and so is my boyfriend. I never did like to look for perfection, and I don’t really notice things that are perfect anymore.

I loved it. Not just the painting but how you clearly described the world as accurately as possible. The world is a “awkward” place to be. BUT that is why you make friends and etc. to find a place in this world where you belong. I hope that others can see an interesting message in between the lines. Thanks Val for this video…PS: CELEBRATE THE AWKWARDNESS!!!

About 2 mins in I went outside and shot my dog. about 3 mins in I thought you is on the other side of that camera? That guy must be a heavy drinker. I would go home and by a hooker to kick my in the face. Ummmm I like a guy whos not a model??? This girl should quit talking and ….i’m outa here

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

